My Secret Identity

For now, I’m going to stay anonymous to the world.  Let’s see how long that lasts…

About covercropper

G'day, I'm a grain grower in the NW Wimmera area of Victoria, Australia. This blog is to share my journey of exploring cover cropping here, mostly summer mixes /cocktails. How to, what, when, will it work in improving our soils, productivity and profits?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Secret Identity

  1. aalfraih says:

    I am really interested in your subject, since from where i am from we have high heats in the summer (55*C) and if you are trying to build up your soil the summer heat will eat away all the organic matter, so i need something in the summer to help save the soil from degradation. I hope this is the same idea you have. but if so shoot me an email.

    • covercropper says:

      Hi Aalfraih, I’ll shoot you an email directly. I haven’t heard of the heat itself burning up organic matter, but I keep coming across data suggesting that sun on bare earth heats it up much more than covered earth, which directly affects the microbe life, along with increasing evaporation rates. It sounds like surface residue retention is more the issue for you, and cover cropping simply adds to that.

Leave a Reply

